Gearing Up for a New Year

29 Dec


So it’s a new year and it’s been a while since I’ve written. I’ve been busy, like most of you, with work and family. And seriously, it was time for me to do a little bit of soul searching around what I want to convey with this blog. Looking at my budget for this year, it was quickly becoming clear that a big trip is not in the cards. The more I thought about it, though, the more and more okay I started to feel about it.

With the pressure off, I feel forced to look around and embrace my city which is currently a foot deep in snow. I want to use this blog to really think about the places where I spend my money and why. I want to put forward a vision of MY city, which is sometimes trendy and up-to-the-minute, but is just as often old-fashioned and homey too. And I want to do it with an eye towards what would make a first-time or repeat traveler have memories to cherish and a reason to come back.

I also want to encourage dreaming with my site, so I will still continue featuring far-away places and themes, as well as ways to enjoy them closer to home. Hmmm, and I also have fallen in love with destination weddings and vow renewals and the freedom and intimacy that they engender in couples.

Last but not least, I am a huge fan of the Artist’s Way, a book that encourages creative pursuits for people who feel artistically blocked. Followers go on weekly Artist Dates, where they go alone to reconnect with their artistic side. (The place itself doesn’t have to be overtly artistic). Each week I will feature places both near and far that encourage the right side of the brain to dream and flourish.

Please join me this New Year as I recommit to being a Voyajer, a traveler with an open heart and sense of awe and humility, whether I am home or abroad.

Peace,

Dalia

Leave a Reply

