Reve de Paris: Writing Retreat in Paris

23 Jan


I love Paris.

And I love writing. At least, I think I do. But I haven’t done it with any regularity for the past five years. Ideas get jotted down, scenes are explored briefly, but then I get bogged down with the minutiae and white noise of everyday life.
My dream has always been to attend a writing retreat, to get away from NYC to write. Not because I think I would finish the great American novel overseas, but I think it would be a great way to gain perspective on my own life here.

So even though I’m not going anywhere this summer (probably. sniff) I am really excited to bring fellow writers this great opportunity called The Left Bank Writers Retreat, where writers work on projects during the morning and tour Paris haunts that inspired great writers in the afternoons. It was begun by Darla Whorden, a writer and owner of her own public relations firm, who was inspired by the same process. Definitely check it out online at http://leftbankwriters.com/

One Response to “Reve de Paris: Writing Retreat in Paris”

  1. voyajer79 January 23, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

    Oh, and there is nothing to stop you from renting an apartment just about anywhere and creating the same process for yourself. Even Carrie in Sex and the City holed up somewhere different in the city when she was facing a tight deadline.

Leave a Reply

